Die Initiative „Ukrainian Research in Switzerland“ (URIS) schreibt einmal jährlich zwei Fellowships aus, die sich an promovierte Wissenschaftler_innen aus dem Bereich der Geistes-, Kultur- und Sozialwissenschaften richten, deren Forschung einen substantiellen Beitrag zum besseren Verständnis von Geschichte, Gesellschaft, Politik und Kultur der Ukraine verspricht.

Das „URIS-Fellowship“ ermöglicht einen sechsmonatigen Forschungsaufenthalt an der Universität Basel (Februar–Juli bzw. August–Januar) und wird nach Exzellenz-Kriterien vergeben. Gesucht werden international ausgewiesene Forscher-Persönlichkeiten, die bereit sind, sich im Netzwerk der Schweizer Ukraine-Forschung zu engagieren und während ihres Aufenthaltes in der Schweiz eine Lehrveranstaltung mit Ukraine-Bezug an der Universität Basel anzubieten. Während der Laufzeit des Fellowships besteht Residenzpflicht in Basel. Über die Vergabe des Fellowships entscheidet ein wissenschaftlicher Beirat.

Die Universität Basel ist ein dynamisches und international gut vernetztes Zentrum der Osteuropa-Forschung. 2005 wurde hier der erste interdisziplinäre BA-Studiengang „Osteuropa-Studien“ in der Schweiz ins Leben gerufen. Institutionell wird der Fachbereich Osteuropa an der Universität Basel vom Slavischen Seminar und dem Lehrstuhl für osteuropäische Geschichte getragen. Daneben bestehen enge Kooperationsbeziehungen zur Kunstgeschichte, den Sozial-, Rechts- und Wirtschaftswissenschaften sowie zu den Jüdischen Studien.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie auf: osteuropa.unibas.ch

Portraits unserer Fellows finden Sie hier.

URIS Fellowship

The initiative “Ukrainian Research in Switzerland” (URIS) announces two fellowships once a year. They are open to postdoctoral and senior scholars in the humanities, cultural studies and social sciences whose research has the potential to make a substantial contribution to a better understanding of the history, society, politics and culture of Ukraine.

The “URIS fellowship” enables the recipient to spend six months researching at the University of Basel (February–July or August–January) and will be awarded on the basis of excellence criteria. The initiative is looking for internationally recognised researchers who are prepared to be involved in the network of Swiss Ukraine research and to offer a Ukraine-related course at the University of Basel during their stay in Switzerland. The recipient is obliged to reside in Basel for the duration of the fellowship. The awarding of the fellowship will be decided by an academic advisory board.

The University of Basel is a dynamic centre for research on Eastern Europe with strong international networks. Switzerland’s first interdisciplinary BA programme “East Europe Studies” was inaugurated here in 2005. The field of East Europe studies at the University of Basel is organised by the Slavic Seminar and the Department of East European History. It also has close ties with art history, the social sciences, law and economics, and Jewish Studies. Further information is available at: osteuropa.unibas.ch

URIS will announce a fourth and fifth “URIS fellowship” at the University of Basel for the 2018 autumn semester and the 2019 spring semester. The call for applications will be published here in September 2017.

Find portraits of our fellows here.