L’initiative « Ukrainian Research in Switzerland » (URIS) met au concours une fois par an deux bourses pour chercheuses et chercheurs titulaires d’un doctorat dans les domaines des sciences humaines, culturelle et sociales et dont la recherche promet une importante contribution à une meilleure compréhension de l’histoire, de la société, de la politique et de la culture en Ukraine.

La « bourse URIS » permet un séjour de recherche à l’Université de Bâle d’une durée de six mois (février – juillet/ août – janvier) et est attribuée selon des critères d’excellence. Nous recherchons des personnalités scientifiques reconnues internationalement, prêtes à s’engager pour le réseau suisse de la recherche sur l’Ukraine et disposées à offrir un cours en rapport avec l’Ukraine à l’Université de Bâle durant leur séjour en Suisse. Le/la bénéficiaire est obligé(e) de résider à Bâle durant la période de validité de la bourse. Un conseil scientifique décide de l’attribution de la bourse.

L’Université de Bâle est un centre dynamique de la recherche sur l’Europe orientale et est bien interconnectée au niveau international. C’est dans cette université que fut créé en 2005 le premier cursus de BA (bachelor of arts) en « Études de l’Europe orientale » de Suisse. Le domaine d’étude d’Europe orientale est soutenu institutionnellement par le Séminaire de Slavistique et la chaire d’histoire de l’Europe de l’Est. Il existe également de nombreuses coopérations avec l’histoire de l’art, les sciences sociales, juridiques et économiques, ainsi qu’avec le Centre d’Études Juives. Vous trouverez des renseignements supplémentaires sur: osteuropa.unibas.ch

Find portraits of our fellows here.

URIS Fellowship

The initiative “Ukrainian Research in Switzerland” (URIS) announces two fellowships once a year. They are open to postdoctoral and senior scholars in the humanities, cultural studies and social sciences whose research has the potential to make a substantial contribution to a better understanding of the history, society, politics and culture of Ukraine.

The “URIS fellowship” enables the recipient to spend six months researching at the University of Basel (February–July or August–January) and will be awarded on the basis of excellence criteria. The initiative is looking for internationally recognised researchers who are prepared to be involved in the network of Swiss Ukraine research and to offer a Ukraine-related course at the University of Basel during their stay in Switzerland. The recipient is obliged to reside in Basel for the duration of the fellowship. The awarding of the fellowship will be decided by an academic advisory board.

The University of Basel is a dynamic centre for research on Eastern Europe with strong international networks. Switzerland’s first interdisciplinary BA programme “East Europe Studies” was inaugurated here in 2005. The field of East Europe studies at the University of Basel is organised by the Slavic Seminar and the Department of East European History. It also has close ties with art history, the social sciences, law and economics, and Jewish Studies. Further information is available at: osteuropa.unibas.ch

URIS will announce a fourth and fifth “URIS fellowship” at the University of Basel for the 2018 autumn semester and the 2019 spring semester. The call for applications will be published here in September 2017.

Find portraits of our fellows here.